Review: Stuart Veitch

Stuart Veitch at The New Greentrees, Dyce on Saturday the 7th October 2023 

People often ask me where I find out about new music and there is not a single answer for that, as I come across new musicians in various places!  In the case of Stuart Veitch, one of my friends messaged and said: this guy singing at P&J Live is amazing, you really need to check him out, he’s only 16!

16….hmmm I thought, not sure about that.  However if he is good enough to play for P&J Live he cannot be too shabby.  A few weeks later the same friend tagged me on Facebook saying this same young lad was playing in a pub did I want to go, so I thought: why not, what’s to lose?!

I must admit I had never been to The New Greentrees in Dyce so did not really know what to expect.  When we went in we were asked if we had a table booked and we said oh no we’ve just come to hear Stuart play.  The lady admitted that they did not expect it to be this busy but she did find us a table, although it was in the next room through an alcove!  We sat down and ordered some drinks.  Most people seem to have got there early to enjoy some dinner before the show (cheesecake portion looked very generous!).

There was a keyboard and guitar set up in the window and sure enough at 7:30 a young lad stood up and introduced himself as Stuart Veitch.  He did two sets with a gap in the middle playing guitar or keyboard to accompany his singing.  Some of the songs were covers, including Oasis and Lewis Capaldi, and some were songs he had written himself.  All were fabulous – and hard to believe the vocals we were hearing were coming out of the young chap in front of us!

Stuart Veitch at The New Greentrees
Stuart Veitch

He told us that in September he was down to London to compete in the Song Academy Young Songwriter final.  His song ended up getting 3rd place in the 13-15 age category, which is just fabulous, although having heard it there is no surprise.  Promises and Regrets is a beautiful song.  Having checked his social media he has already played in the legendary King Tuts in Glasgow as well at their Sunday Song Club for all ages.  ‘We Can’t Fly’ was his first professional single which was produced by Mark Tindell from Open Eyes Production and he mentioned having a new song coming out soon. 

I am still reeling that the voice, and talent, that I heard on Saturday evening was coming out of such a young lad, but I am excited to follow his journey and see how far he goes.  I imagine he has quite a musical career ahead of him, glad I was there early on.  Give him a follow and check his music out for yourself.

Stuart Veitch Music on Youtube and Facebook.

The New Greentrees.

One thought on “Review: Stuart Veitch

Leave a comment